News‎ > ‎

CARTA fellows Cohort 2 admitted

posted Sep 2, 2011, 1:37 AM by Makau Ngola   [ updated Sep 5, 2011, 10:29 PM ]

Selection of the next set of CARTA fellows for the CARTA PhD fellowships was finalized during a  CARTA Partners’ Forum held at the University of the Witwatersrand on 17 August 2011. 


Prospecting fellows who were initially nominated by their CARTA institutions were invited to undertake an online assignment for screening purposes.  The application process also included a reference letter, a resume and an outline of the proposed research.   The online assignments were marked at the CARTA Secretariat and at the University of Warwick where marks awarded were harmonized to a final grade for use in the selection exercise. 


Research proposal outlines submitted were reviewed by academic staff in CARTA institutions and graded.  No institution reviewed proposals submitted by its own applicants.  Reviewer’s comments are meant to improve on the quality of the proposal.  They were communicated back to all applicants.


20 fellows out of the 76 who applied, were awarded CARTA PhD fellowships. Selection of Cohort 2 of CARTA fellows achieved a gender balance with 10 females and 10 males.  The following is the full list of the selected CARTA fellows cohort 2:

01     Mutisya        Joseph Maurice, African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC)
02     Fagbamigbe  Adeniyi Francis, University of Ibadan
03     Adeyemo     Adebolajo Adewunmi, University of Ibadan
04     Oluwatoba   Olufunke Abiodun, University of Ibadan
05     Wandera      Stephen Ojiambo, Makerere University
06     Tumwine      Gabriel, Makerere University
07     Nakubulwa  Sarah, Makerere University
08     Mbalinda      Scovia Nalugo, Makerere University
09     Obiyan          Mary Oluwafunke, Obafemi Awolowo University
10     Mcharo         Evaline, University of Dar es Salaam
11     Longwe         Herbert Hudson Thulasoni, University of Malawi
12     Mwamtobe Peter Mpasho, University of Malawi
13     Mtethiwa     Austin Henderson, University of Malawi
14     Linda              Alinane Mipando, University of Malawi
15     Omosa-Manyonyi Gloria Susan, University of Nairobi
16     Njenga          John Njuguna, University of Nairobi
17     Mtshali          Primrose Theodorah Siphesihle, University of the Witwatersrand
18     Kagura           Juliana, University of the Witwatersrand
19     Nyasulu        Juliet Charity Yauka, University of the Witwatersrand
20     Takuva          Simbarashe, University of the Witwatersrand